PDA

View Full Version : Rice aide hid disbandment of Atta's trackers from 9/11 report

ehnyah
08-24-2005, 03:57 PM
[ehnyah: this is a long read, I'm not an expert on able danger, verify?]

embedded links: http://www.dailykos.com/storyonly/2005/8/23/20200/6070

Rice aide hid disbandment of Atta's trackers from 9/11 report
by topdog08
Tue Aug 23rd, 2005 at 17:20:00 PDT

The story is not the sharing of intelligence, it's the fact that Bush cancelled the program!

Wonder why Philip Zelikow might not have wanted the 9/11 Commission Report to include the fact that Able Danger, a program shut down in February 2001 just after Bush took office, had been actively tracking the movements of Mohammed Atta at the time? Think it might have jeopardized his promotion to the State Department after Bush's re-election?

Counselor of the Department

Term of Appointment: 02/01/2005 to present

Dr. Philip D. Zelikow was appointed Counselor of the U.S. Department of State in February 2005, where he serves as a senior policy advisor on a wide range of issues to the Secretary of State.

From the Times Herald on 08/17/2005:

Shaffer, however, claims he mentioned Atta by name to the 9/11 Commission's executive director, Philip Zelikow, when the two met in Afghanistan in October 2003.

"I kept my talking points (from the meeting)," Shaffer said. "And I'm confident about what I said."

Still think Able Danger is just a right wing plot to blame Bill Clinton? More details below.
topdog08's diary :: ::

From Wikipedia:

Philip Zelikow served on President Bush's transition team in 2000-2001. After George W. Bush took office, Zelikow was named to a position on the President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board, and worked on other task forces and commissions as well, including the National Commission on Federal Election Reform.