PDA

View Full Version : uppity college kid gets tazed

thumper
11-20-2006, 01:19 PM
saw it on infowars.

here's the vid.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4JGlvEcPmug

here's a very astute observation made in the comments section:

What he did is called resisting arrest - he was told no less than 60 times to stand up in the first half of the video. With all his yelling and screaming and refusal to cooperate, I suspect he's an attention whore out to make some disjointed statement about the patriot act - which had absolutely nothing to do with this incident.

now i'm no lawyer, but i'll preface by saying that i'm a libertarian and from what i gather the question of 'civil liberties', for the most part, I thought only applied to public property. i.e. the police aren't allowed to check for your ID while you walk down the street if they have no compelling reason to.

The ACLU student library is private property, and the nature of such places is that they can enforce their own terms of usage, usually for liability purposes (the ID policy is a form of security). i.e. to enter into a mine, you need a hardhat, or how you have to wear clothes if you wanna enter most eating establishments.

while i agree about the police state that AJ talks about most the time, i think we have to get our paradigms straight here. our sphere of 'freedom' only extends as far until it bumps into someone elses sphere. I'm reminded of those people who phone into the randi rhodes show who literally think that Freedom of Speech means they have the RIGHT to have their letters published by newspapers, kinda like I should have the right to spray paint your garage with a custom message of mine.

i just hope that people don't associate the 9/11 truth movement/anti NWO movement with this nihilist cuz it makes us looks bad and crazy.

holla

Eckolaker
11-20-2006, 02:47 PM
I agree with that whole assesment.

As I may think the cops got a little Taser happy, that kid was out of line.